Western Australia tops earthquake list for 2010

05 July 2011

The 2010 report card on seismicity in Australia has been released with Western Australia once again the national hotspot for earthquake activity.

Geoscience Australia recorded 379 earthquakes in the Australian region in 2010, of which 209 were located in Western Australia, 70 in New South Wales, 47 in South Australia, 24 in both Victoria and the Northern Territory, 3 in Tasmania and 1 each in Queensland and the ACT.

The Australian Seismological Report 2010 includes an event summary of the largest onshore earthquake in Australia during the 12 month period - a magnitude 5 event that shook Boulder/Kalgoorlie on 20 April 2010 causing damage to buildings, roads and infrastructure. Two offshore earthquakes were also recorded at magnitude 5 - one off the northwest coast and one off the south coast of Western Australia

The seismological report also contains statistics on international earthquakes for 2010, and historical information including the largest recorded events at the national, state and territory level.

If you have felt an earthquake, you can lodge a felt report on our website. We use this information to understand and construct maps detailing intensity and felt radius for earthquakes near Australia’s populated centres. This information is used by planning authorities and emergency management decision makers to create safer Australian communities.

The Australian Seismological Report 2010 is available as a free download.

Topic contact: media@ga.gov.au Last updated: October 4, 2013