Australian Geological Provinces

     Map of geological provinces of Australia     

Map of geological provinces of Australia

Interactively explore the available geological provinces of the Australian continent and surrounding offshore regions. You can create maps, retrieve detailed reports and generate time-space-event plots (TSEP).

Province attributes include igneous, sedimentary, metallogenic and structural characteristics, age limits, parent and constituent units, relations to surrounding provinces, and mineral and petroleum resources. The provinces are mapped at a nominal 1:1 million scale.

ProvExplorer - Geological Provinces Interactive Mapping System

Note: The Provinces online mapping system does not currently contain a complete coverage of all geological provinces. The picture at right shows the current coverage.  For the full geological provinces dataset, please download the GIS data from the Australian Geological Provinces, 2013.01 edition.