Australian Geological Provinces

Time slices through Australia's geological provinces

The Australian Geological Provinces Database contains  descriptions and spatial extents of the fundamental geological elements of the Australian continent and its offshore surrounds.

Province types include sedimentary basins, tectonic provinces such as cratons and orogens, igneous provinces, and metallogenic or mineral provinces. At its simplest, a province may describe a sedimentary basin and its fill (eg, the Sydney Basin). However, provinces may also be defined by a complex history of tectonics, metamorphism, magmatism, or metallogenesis.

Provinces outlines, including their subsurface extent, are compiled at around 1:1million scale. Descriptions of the provinces include age and geological history, parent-child hierarchy, constituent stratigraphic units, relations to surrounding provinces, and the presence of mineral and petroleum resources.

The Australian Geological Provinces GIS dataset (version 2018.01) is available for download from our website. It is also available as a web service (WMS or ESRI map service).