Australian Stratigraphy Commission

The main purposes of the Australian Stratigraphy Commission are:

  • to assist geologists with appropriately naming and defining stratigraphic units (including igneous units)
  • to develop stratigraphic principles and classification for Australia
  • to contribute to updates of the International Stratigraphic Guide.

State and Territory Subcommittee Conveners

National Matters Cathy Brown
Convener - National Matters
Australian Stratigraphy Commission
c/- Geoscience Australia
Cnr Jerrabomberra Ave and Hindmarsh Drive
SYMONSTON ACT 2609
Phone: +61 2 6249 9535
Fax: +61 2 6249 9917
Email: cathy.brown@ga.gov.au or cathyeb@netspeed.com.au
Australian Capital Territory
and External Territories
Albert Brakel
Convener - ACT and External Territories Stratigraphy Subcommission
97 Atherton Street,
DOWNER ACT 2602
Phone: +61 2 6241 3895
Email: abrakel@netspeed.com.au
New South Wales Glen Phillips
Convener - New South Wales Stratigraphy Subcommission
Geological Survey of New South Wales
NSW Trade and Investment
PO Box 344
Hunter Regional Mail Centre NSW 2310
Phone: +61 2 4931 6683
Email: glen.phillips@trade.nsw.gov.au
Northern Territory Verity Normington
Convener - Northern Territory Stratigraphy Subcommission
Northern Territory Geological Survey
Dept of Mines and Energy
GPO Box 8760
ALICE SPRINGS NT 0871
Phone: +61 8 8951 8162
Email: verity.normington@nt.gov.au
Queensland Ian Withnall
Convener - Queensland Stratigraphy Subcommission
Geological Survey of Queensland
Dept of Natural Resources and Mines
Level 12, 61 Mary Street
BRISBANE QLD 4000
Phone: +61 7 3035 5270
Email: ian.withnall@dnrm.qld.gov.au
South Australia Wayne Cowley
Convener - South Australia Stratigraphy Subcommission
Geological Survey of South Australia
Dept of Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources & Energy
GPO Box 1264
ADELAIDE SA 5001
Phone: +61 8 8463 3076
Fax: +61 8 8226 3200
Email: wayne.cowley@sa.gov.au
Tasmania Stephen Forsyth
Convener - Tasmania Stratigraphy Subcommission
55 Malunna Rd
LINDISFARNE, TAS 7015
Phone: +61 3 6243 8952
Email: smforsyth@internode.on.net
Victoria Fons VandenBerg
Custodian - Victoria Stratigraphy Subcommission
Museum Victoria
GPO Box 666
MELBOURNE VIC 3001
Email: avandenberg@museum.vic.gov.au
Western Australia Milo Barham
Convener - Western Australia Stratigraphy Subcommission
Department of Applied Geology, Curtin University
GPO Box U1987
PERTH WA 6845
Phone: +61 8 9266 3005
Fax: +61 8 9266 3153
Email: milo.barham@curtin.edu.au

Using the Stratigraphic Units Database

Stratigraphic Nomenclature

Enquiries