2021 release area maps

Maps of the 2021 Acreage Release areas available below. The 2021 Acreage Release comprises 21 areas located across six sedimentary basins: the Bonaparte Basin, the Browse Basin, the Gippsland Basin, the Otway Basin, the Northern Carnarvon Basin and the Sorell Basin. Work program bidding for the 2021 release areas will remain open until 3 March 2022. For more information on investing in offshore petroleum exploration, including the acreage release map booklet and diagrams, refer to the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources.

Download Figures [ZIP 38.2 MB]

Download Figure [PDF 20.0 MB]
Offshore Petroleum Exploration Acreage Release - Australia 2021

For information on the 2021 acreage release areas visit the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources website. The release areas can also be viewed interactively via the Acreage Release persona on Geoscience Australia's Data Discovery Portal.