Petroleum Geology of Offshore Basins

Australia is relatively under-explored by international standards. Continued exploration is enabled through the Australian Government's annual release of offshore acreage. Geoscience Australia supports these releases and ongoing investment in exploration with a suite of regional petroleum geological information sets, comprising summaries on stratigraphy, petroleum systems, exploration histories and key references. Also included are various thematic maps and figures. Updated information for key basins is available via the Acreage Release tab. Legacy information is organised according to the major sedimentary basins and can be accessed by selecting the region of interest on the left or below. The Acreage Release pages will undergo regular updates and will be expanded to provide information for all Australian offshore basins.

Information on Australia's onshore and offshore sedimentary basins is also available from Geoscience Australia's Australian Geological Provinces Database. This database can be interactively queried and the results retrieved as reports and maps.

Legacy information on the petroleum geology of Australia’s basins is provided below. Updated information is available for key basins via the Acreage Release tab on the left.

Thumbnail of Offshore North West Australia basins

Offshore Northwest Australia

Basins included in this area are: Arafura Basin, Bonaparte Basin, Browse Basin, Money Shoal Basin and Roebuck Basin.

Thumbnail of Offshore Southern Australia Basins

Offshore Southern Australia

Basins included in this area are: Bass Basin, Bight Basin, Gippsland Basin, Otway Basin, Sorell Basin.

Thumbnail of Onshore Australia Basins

Onshore Australia

Basins included in this area are: Adavale Basin, Bowen Basin, Darling Basin, Officer Basin, Ipswich Basin.