Acreage Release

2021 Acreage Release

The 2021 Acreage Release comprises 21 areas located across six sedimentary basins in Commonwealth waters offshore of Western Australia, Victoria, the Ashmore and Cartier Islands, the Northern Territory and Tasmania. For information on the release areas and the basins of interest, please follow the links provided below. These pages provide petroleum geological content that has been compiled from publications related to previous acreage release and from ongoing studies carried out by Geoscience Australia. For more information on investing in offshore petroleum exploration refer to the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources. Open access precompetitive geological and geophysical data is available from the National Offshore Petroleum Information Management System (NOPIMS). The newly developed Geoscience Australia Portal also hosts a range of geoscientific data that can be interrogated interactively.

Other active basins

Petroleum geological content relating to prospective offshore sedimentary basins for which there is currently no Acreage Release.

2020 Acreage Release Presentation [PDF 12.7 MB]