Offshore Southern Australia

Last updated:29 August 2023

The Offshore Southern Australia region encompasses basins along Australia's southern margin, and extends from Cape Leeuwin in the west, to Cape Howe in the east and to the south, offshore Tasmania, the South Tasman Rise and the Australian Maritime Jurisdiction (AMJ) of the Kerguelen Plateau. Major features of the region include the volcanic Kerguelen Plateau, the South Tasman Rise, the Otway, Gippsland, Sorell, Bass and Bight Basins, and the Bremer Sub-basin of the Bight Basin.

Note: refer to the Acreage Release basins page for updated information on the Bight, Otway, Sorell and Gippsland basins.